Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Virginia State Code Section 58.1-3503 defines personal property as:
The current tax rate for all items of tangible personal property, except boats, is $2.95 per $100 of assessed value. The current tax rate for boats is $0.0000000000001 per $100 of assessed value. The Board of Supervisors sets this rate annually.
The personal property tax bills are due on June 30th and December 5th.
Gloucester County does not prorate automobiles, trucks, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, boats, trailers or aircraft. You will be responsible for the tax bill for the remainder of the year.
The Personal Property Tax Relief Act (PPTRA) of 1998 was intended to phase out the payment of personal property taxes on certain motor vehicles. The State no longer intends to eliminate the personal property tax, but rather provide a reduction to the taxpayer. For tax year 2018, the state provided Gloucester County residents with 34% tax relief on the qualifying personal property tax bills.
The following instances to do not qualify:
Notify both the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the Commissioner of the Revenue's Office immediately if your vehicle has been sold, stolen, donated, or totaled. Virginia DMV requires notification within 30 days of selling, trading, or junking a vehicle by completing the back portion of the vehicle registration form. Once DMV has been notified, you are required to notify the Commissioner of the Revenue. You may notify the Commissioner of Revenue's Office by filling out the Changes Personal Property Filing Form (PDF).
Beginning in 2006 Gloucester County will no longer issue decals.
Visit the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) online. You can contact DMV by phone at 804-497-7100. The mailing address for DMV is:
Virginia Department of Motor VehiclesP.O. Box 27412Richmond, VA 23269
Visit Game and Inland Fisheries online. You can reach the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries by phone at 866-721-6911 or 804-367-6135. The Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries is located at:
4010 West Broad StreetRichmond, VA 23230
Yes, all vehicles need to be registered with Gloucester County. If the vehicle is classified as an antique or vintage and has permanent license plates issued as specified in Virginia State Code Section 46.2-730, then the vehicle is not subject to taxation.
Any leased vehicle, including business vehicles, garaged in Gloucester County must be registered with our office within 10 days of the date of the lease or from the date the vehicle moved to the County. The lessee is responsible for registering the leased vehicle with our office regardless of the party responsible for the property taxes.
The Commissioner of the Revenue welcomes you to Gloucester County. All vehicles should be registered with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) prior to notifying us. Boats need to be registered with Game and Inland Fisheries (GIF).
You may file a return anytime after you move to Gloucester County; however, a return is required by March 1st of the first year you were a resident on January 1st. Gloucester County does not prorate; therefore, you will be taxed for the entire year on items that you own January 1st.
For motor vehicles, trailers or boats you must file by March 1st if you have not previously filed a return. Once you have filed you only need to file if:
All other personal property must be filed by March 1st of each year. Taxpayers failing to file shall incur a penalty of 10% of the tax due according to the Gloucester County Code.
If your legal domicile is Virginia, your vehicle(s) is/are subject to personal property taxes from the locality where you are registered regardless of where the vehicle is garaged during your active military service. If your vehicle is titled in Virginia, but your legal domicile is not in Virginia, your vehicle is not subject to Virginia property taxes. A copy of a current LES statement is required to absolve any liability to Virginia. This statement must be filed with us each year.
Beginning in November 2009 spouses of Servicemen who have the same legal residence of their servicemen spouse, who are here accompanying their serviceman spouse will receive the same benefit.
First, you must notify the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and register the vehicle in your name. Then register the vehicle with the Commissioner of Revenue. You must file the Personal Property Filing and Registration form (PDF) with this office by March 1 of the next tax year.