Flood Insurance

National Flood Insurance Program

Gloucester County is a participant in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and is rated a Class 6 community by the FEMA Community Rating System (CRS), which allows property owners to obtain federally backed flood insurance at a 20% premium discount. 

This insurance is available to any owner of insurable property in this county (with exception of those properties located in FEMA designated coastal barrier areas.). Flood insurance policies are available from local insurance companies. 

The actual cost may vary depending on the degree of flood hazard and the amount of coverage desired. Residents who live or own property in flood hazard areas are urged to purchase flood insurance to protect themselves from losses due to flooding.

Franklin Floyd Hurricane Flooding

Fast Facts

Fast Facts on the National Flood Insurance Program:

  • Coverage for contents is not automatically included with building coverage. Ask your insurance agent about contents coverage.
  • Standard home owners insurance policies do not cover losses due to floods.
  • There is a 30 day waiting period before coverage goes into effect.
  • This insurance is required if purchasing a home through a federally backed mortgage.